Strategic Policy and Resources Committee

Thursday, 5th July, 2023

SPECIAL MEETING OF THE STRATEGIC POLICY AND RESOURCES COMMITTEE

HELD IN THE LAVERY ROOM IN HYBRID FORMAT

Members present: Councillor Black (Chairperson);

Alderman McCoubrey; and

Councillors Bunting, Cobain, de Faoite, M. Donnelly, R.M. Donnelly, Ferguson, Garrett, Hanvey, Long, Maghie, Maskey, I. McLaughlin, R. McLaughlin,

Nelson and Nic Bhranair,

In attendance: Mr. J. Walsh, Chief Executive;

Mr. D. Sales, Director of Neighbourhood Services;

Ms. L. Caldwell, Director of External Affairs, Marketing and

Communications;

Mr. T. Wallace. Director of Finance:

Mrs. S. Toland, Director (Operational) City and

Neighbourhood Services;

Ms. N. Lane, Neighbourhood Services Manager; Mr. J. Girvan, Neighbourhood Services Manager and Mr. G. Graham, Democratic Services Assistant.

Apologies

Apologies were reported on behalf of Councillors Smyth and Whyte.

Declarations of Interest

(Councillor Bunting declared an interest in this matter on the basis that she was a member of the Belvoir Area Residents' Group which had been included in the application for the Summer Diversionary Funding under the Greater Village Regeneration Trust and left the meeting whilst it was being discussed.)

THE COMMITTEE DEALT WITH THE FOLLOWING ITEM IN PURSUANCE OF THE POWERS DELEGATED TO IT BY THE COUNCIL AT ITS MEETING ON 1st MAY, 2018

Restricted Item

Summer Community Diversionary Festival 2023

The Committee considered a report which had been prepared by the Director of Neighbourhood Services which provided a range of options in terms of funding proposals in regard to the Summer Community Diversionary Festival 2023.

After discussion, it was

Proposed by Alderman McCoubrey, Seconded by Councillor Ferguson,

Resolved - That the Committee agree to option 2 as presented in the afore- mentioned report, to award £47,745, in full, to GVRT, being the only application, under consideration, which had been successful in meeting the criteria at stage 1 of a 2 stage process.

On a recorded vote, ten Members voted for the proposal and four against, and it was accordingly declared carried.

For 10	Against 4	
Councillor Black (Chairperson) Alderman McCoubrey Councillor Cobain Councillor M. Donnelly Councillor R-M. Donnelly Councillor Ferguson Councillor Garrett Councillor Maskey Councillor I. McLaughlin Councillor R. McLaughlin	Councillor de Faoite Councillor Hanvey Councillor Maghie Councillor Nelson	

Chairperson